It’s the first business day of 2017! There is still time to make a resolution, if you haven’t already, and I’d love to help you with strategy.  According to New Years Resolution Statistics at StatisticBrain.com only 8% of the 38% of Americans who make resolutions keep them. I work with patients on setting nutrition goals throughout the year, and have learned a lot about what makes goals succeed and what makes them fail.

First, goals should be WISE.

Written

Insightful

Self-motivated

Essential

Writing your goal and posting it means that it will stay the same; “I will lose 1/2-1 pound per week for the next 30 weeks” will not become the vague cliche resolution: “I will lose weight”.

Insight is defined as a deep understanding of a person or thing. Make goals only after honest reflection about the reasoning behind the change you wish to make. For example, are you lonely and using outings to fast food as a way to get out of the house? If so, then “I will lose 1/2-1 pound per week” is not going to address the root of the problem. Instead, a goal that addresses your loneliness, such as a goal to plan two social and non-food related outings per week or a goal to see a counselor twice per month would be more important to replace or pair with the weight loss goal.

Self-motivation is the most important component, if I had to choose. YOU, the goal setter, have to want to achieve the goal. Your doctor can’t make you want to lose weight or quit smoking. Your family can’t make you want to manage your finances. However, even when you’re ambivalent towards a change you know you should want, that doesn’t mean you can’t set a goal that can help you. Consider setting a goal to learn more about the pros and cons and realities of making that change. Check out the stages of change model, here for a resource to help you self-reflect and discover what types of goals would be wise based on where you are.

Essential is defined as absolutely necessary; extremely important. Ask yourself what NEEDS to happen in your life. Personally, my biggest health-related changes came when I realized the gravity of the consequences of the path I was on and realized that I had no choice but to change. Making goals that are under the umbrella of a larger essential change  will help you reach them because you’ll benefit from borrowed motivation for each little goal under the bigger goal. When I was pre diabetic, I felt I NEEDED to avoid the onset of diabetes. This helped me to exercise for >1 hour >4 times/week, eliminate refined sugar and processed carbohydrates every day, and pair a protein source with every meal, every day until the day my labs came back within normal limits and, as it turns out, for life.

Next, goals should be SMART:

Specific

Measurable

Achievable/Realistic***

Time-bound

***It is possible to make BIG changes with great motivation; don’t limit or underestimate yourself too much for fear of becoming discouraged later, especially if the motivation is there!

 

Below are some examples of goals, but YOU will need to be the one to determine what resolution is WISE for you.

Disclaimer: all numbers, while most are research based, are made up and do not reflect goals meant to be generalized. Also, all readers may not share my financial or spiritual worldview that inevitably influenced these examples. It’s okay; don’t use these–they are only examples. Make your own!

Nutrition: 

I will drink at least 2 liters of water daily during 2017.

With the exception of Christmas, Thanksgiving, Easter, and my birthday, I will consume <24 gm of added sugar daily during 2017.

I will eat a minimum of 2 cups of non starchy vegetables daily during 2017.

With the exception of a planned time of fasting, I will not skip breakfast during 2017.

I will go out to eat or order take out <4 times per month including all meals during 2017.

I will take 10 minutes every Saturday morning to plan my meals and generate a grocery shopping list for the week every week during 2017.

I will maintain my current weight during 2017.

I will make at least two dinners per week meatless during 2017.

I will lose 1/2-1 pound per week in 2017 until I reach a weight within the healthy range estimated for me by my physician or nutritionist, at which time I will maintain my weight for the remainder of the year.

I will set a monthly appointment with a nutrition expert to help me learn about nutrition and develop goals during 2017.

Physical activity: 

I will be physically active for a minimum of 10 minutes daily during 2017.

I will take at least 10,000 steps daily, 6 days per week as measured by my pedometer during 2017.

I will incrementally increase my current physical activity routine by 30 minutes per week up to completing at least 150 minutes of moderate-intensity physical activity per week during 2017.

I will set an alarm every 50 minutes during the work days in which I sit for prolonged periods that will remind me to stand up and move for 10 minutes every hour in 2017.

 

Financial health:

Before each month of 2017 begins, I will develop and agree on a budget with my spouse that accounts for all income and expenses.

I will tithe 10% of my income during 2017.

I will save 15% of my income towards retirement in 2017.

I will pay off my student loans in 2017, at a minimum rate of $1500 per month.

Mental health/spiritual growth:

I will read one non-fiction book per month in 2017.

I will meet with a career counselor at least once during 2017 to help me make a plan to move towards the work I love and feel called to do.

I will pray daily during 2017 using the Lord’s Prayer as a template.

I will donate a minimum of 3 hours per month nutrition counseling at a local food pantry during 2017.

Relational health:

I will budget for, plan, and go on two dates per month with my spouse in 2017.

I will send out hand written thank you notes within two weeks after I receive any and every gift in 2017.

I will join a small group through my church that meets weekly in 2017.

I will call my grandparents twice per month in 2017.

 

What is your New Years resolution? Share in the comments!

 

sparkler

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published by Elyse

I'm a registered dietitian nutritionist with a travel bug who LOVES nutrition science, food, and total wellness. I've zigzagged my way across the U.S. and I hope to never stop learning about people and health.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment